

TEE TIMES NEWS BULLETIN

Issue No 069 November 19 2018

This week's results at West Berks

How a hat trick of wins for Chris takes last of year's board comps

Hat trick for Chris in Gillas

Chris Ramsey made it a hat trick in the Gillas Cup on Sunday when he followed up wins in the two qualifying rounds by winning the final with 42 points. In the final, Nigel Day was one point behind in second place while Terry Phelps was third with 40 points edging out Patrick Wilmore on count-back.

Not surprisingly, Chris took the Gillas Cup with a total of 85 points, seven points clear of Patrick Wilmore who took the runner-up slot with 78. He was one ahead of Terry Phelps who beat Darren Boulton on count-back to take third place.

	ΚI	R2	Best	Final	Tota
Chris Ramsey	43	40	43	42	85
Patrick Wilmore	38	32	38	40	78
Terry Phelps	26	37	37	40	77
Darren Boulton	35	38	38	39	77

Putting the boot in

Ten teams competed for the annual Portuguese Caddie Trophy, played in glorious sunshine on Tuesday.

Colin Bell, Shelagh Lancaster and Derrick Perrin took the first prize in this competition that involves iudicious use of 'leather the wedge' with a of score 88 points. They were just one point clear of Rob Small. Renee Wheeler Steve and Haylor who were placed second.

Gale McAuley, Sian Soanes, James Hirst and Martin Neville were third with 82.

Ola Adams presented to the winners the Portuguese Caddie Trophy that is dedicated to the memory of her late husband, John, who died in 2012 and was a highly respected member of West Berks.

Greg takes Saturday stableford

Greg Collins won the Saturday stableford with 41 points. Terry Phelps was second with 38 while Mustapha (Muz) Mzouri with 37 points took third spot by winning a three-way tie with John (Chopper)



Harris and Lee Nicholson on count-back.

Winter league R4 for Sian

Sian Soanes won round four of the ladies' winter league competition with 30 points on Saturday.

Tina Mulford and Sandy Miller were one shot back in second place with Tina beating Sandy on countback.

Team matters

The seniors recorded their third four-nil win in succession in the Nonsuch League of the M4 Seniors Winter League when they beat Sandford Springs away on Wednesday November 14.

The rest of 2018 at West Berks

November			Sat 8	Ladies: Winter League		
	Wed 21	CLUB AGM (19.30)	Sun 9	Men: Winter competition		
	Sat 24	Ladies: Winter League	Tue 11	Ladies: 8 Hole Comp and Christmas Lunch		
	Sun 25	Men: Winter League R1	Wed 12	Men: Midweek Turkey Trot Singles		
December				Ladies: Midweek Turkey Trot Singles		
	Sat 1	Mixed: Fun competition	Sat 15	Men & Ladies Turkey Trot Singles Men & Ladies Turkey Trot Team		
	Sun 2	Men: Winter League R2				
	Tue 4	ue 4 Ladies: Winter Trophy Stableford		CAPTAINS' DRIVE-IN		

Winners of men's board comps in 2018



Winners of main men's comps 2018

Clama Trophy: Carl McCartney and Chris Moore

Lambourn Trophy:Darren BoultonSenior Champion:Derek SmithMen's Champion:Jason KendalWise Trophy:Terry PhelpsBennett Cup:Nick Jones

Badger Trophy: Kevin Dixon and Mark Charlton

Liddiard Cup: Billy Nicholson
Crawford Cup: Darren Galbraith
Gillas Cup: Chris Ramsey

Classic Trophy: Lee Wilkins and John Carroll Walsh Shield: Mark Ramos and Derek Smith

Dowling Cup: Dan Bowsher **Seniors' KO:** Colin Harrison

2018 presentations at ladies' AGM

AT THE Ladies' AGM last week a number of awards were made.

Our lady captain, Sandy Miller, crowned a great year by winning the most improved player of the year award while Jane Brackenbury recorded the most birdies throughout the year,

Jane Wilmore won the Hannah Cup with Pat Davies taking second spot and Nicolette Eastwood third while Tina Mulford won the summer eclectic competition with Jane Brackenbury second and Gale McAuley third.

Each year the name of the golfer who returns the best four medal rounds in the year goes forward to England Golf for selection for the regional finals of the Bridgestone Chase Your Dream national competition. This year this was shared by Mary Harwood and Gale McAuley and it is understood that no decision has yet been made as to who will take up this nomination.



Pics clockwise from top left:
Jason Kendal collects men's champs
trophy — Degga Smith is senior
champion — Colin Harrision is senior
KO winner — Terry Phelps wins the
Wise Trophy — Nick Jones with the
Bennett Cup